Bingham Healthcare Now Has a Patient-Centered Medical Home Recognized Practice

BLACKFOOT, ID – August 6, 2020 – Bingham Healthcare is proud to announce that their Bingham Healthcare Family Medicine practice in Blackfoot was recently recognized as a Patient-Centered Medical Home (PCMH) by the National Committee for Quality Assurance (NCQA). This applies specifically to their family medicine clinic currently run by Drs. Brian Carrigan and Brian Hansen, family medicine doctors.

“In particular, what this recognition means for our patients is that our providers will spend as much time as necessary with their patients and coordinate communication between their office staff and specialists,” said Jake Erickson, CEO at Bingham Healthcare. “In addition, our providers will make sure it is easy for patients to access their health information and receive proper care, as well as ensure patients feel like they have a voice and are always involved in making their own healthcare decisions.”

“The NCQA Patient-Centered Medical Home recognition raises the bar in defining high-quality care by emphasizing access, health information technology, and coordinated care focused on patients,” said NCQA President Margaret E. O’Kane. “This recognition shows that Bingham Healthcare Family Medicine has the tools, systems, and resources to provide its patients with the right care, at the right time.”

The PCMH acknowledges that Bingham Healthcare’s Family Medicine clinic is a best practice model for high-value primary care delivery in the country. A medical home is a primary care practice that has redesigned its processes, policies, and culture with five evidence-based enhancements associated with higher quality care.

What this translates into for Bingham’s patients is that they will have:

  1. Better access,
  2. More comprehensive team-based healthcare delivery,
  3. Better care coordination,
  4. Patient-centered care, and
  5. Continuous quality improvement.

This also demonstrates that Bingham’s Family Medicine clinic in Blackfoot has proven to be instrumental in lowering the cost of care by preventing unnecessary emergency department visits and hospitalizations—by providing evidence-based preventive care and better chronic disease management.

“We are extremely honored to be recognized by the NCQA for meeting the rigorous selection criteria for the PCMH program,” said Erickson. “Overall, this recognition demonstrates our on-going commitment to delivering high-quality healthcare, as well as fostering a physician-patient partnership, to ensure Eastern Idahoans live long, healthy, and happy lives. And, I would like to thank everyone who worked so hard to ensure we would receive this prestigious, national recognition.”

To learn more about Dr. Brian Carrigan, please click here.

To learn more about Dr. Brian Hansen, please click here.

About the NCQA

NCQA is a private, nonprofit organization dedicated to improving health care quality. NCQA accredits and certifies a wide range of health care organizations. It also recognizes clinicians and practices in key areas of performance. NCQA’s Healthcare Effectiveness Data and Information Set (HEDIS®) is the most widely used performance measurement tool in health care. NCQA’s website ( contains information to help consumers, employers and others make more informed health care choices.

  • NCQA accredits and certifies a wide range of health care organizations and manages the evolution of HEDIS®, the performance measurement tool used by more than 90 percent of the nation’s health plans.
  • NCQA’s website contains information to help consumers, employers and others make more informed health care choices.
  • NCQA is governed by a Board of Directors that includes employers, consumers, health plans, quality experts, and representatives from organized medicine.
  • NCQA’s web site ( contains information to help consumers, employers and others make more informed health care choices.
  • NCQA’s mission is to improve the quality of health care.

Descriptions of Recognition Programs

  • The National Committee for Quality Assurance has awarded an accreditation status of level 2 for demonstrating a broad range of capabilities of an Accountable Care Organization.
  • The Recognition Programs assess whether clinicians and practices support the delivery of high-quality care.
  • The Recognition Programs are built on evidence-based, nationally recognized clinical standards of care.
  • The official NCQA directory of Recognized Clinicians can be accessed at

 Submit questions related to press releases through

Return to Articles

Health Resource Library

Subscribe to Emails